Thank you to everyone who submitted a nomination. Over 150 entries were received and scrutinised and we are delighted to reveal our shortlisted nominees for The Bone Idols 2021!

From exceptional fundraisers to leading healthcare professionals to pioneering surgeons and researchers at the forefront of new treatment development, we have been overwhelmed by the range and strength of your nominations.

It was incredibly difficult narrowing down such an outstanding list of nominees to a shortlist, however, we have done it. Your 2021 Bone Idol nominees really do represent the very best of the primary bone cancer community - each, in their own right, exceptional and deserving of the title of 'Idol'.

The winners from each category will be announced at our 15 Years of Research: Celebration Evening & Showcase event on November 6th - sponsored by Capstone. Tickets on sale now here.

It's time to meet your nominees...

Dr Phillip Green

For his continual commitment to supporting the awareness and research activities of the Bone Cancer Research Trust.

Pete Lloyd

For his unwavering support and dedication as a Patient Ambassador and fundraiser.

Laurence Whiteley

For his continual support in raising awareness of primary bone cancer in the UK and internationally through the Paralympic Games.

Charlene Young

For her contribution to improving the outreach of the Bone Cancer Research Trust's Support & Information Service to all communities.

Terri Bush

For her tireless commitment to the Bone Cancer Research Trust's Stamp Appeal, her coordination of our Stamp Volunteers and her own personal fundraising.

Adam Bowers

For his time and effort supporting the Bone Cancer Research Trust's face to face fundraising events, and more recently, virtual events throughout the pandemic.

Professor Pam Kearns

For leading and guiding the Bone Cancer Research Trust's Independent Scientific Advisory Panel through a time of significant growth and interest in primary bone cancer research.

Aimee Hunter

For giving up her time and supporting the Bone Cancer Research Trust Community & Challenge Event Fundraising Teams over several years.

Helen Buglass

For dedicating herself to fundraising and raising awareness of the Bone Cancer Research Trust whilst her own daughter was undergoing treatment for primary bone cancer.

Julie Wantling

For tirelessly fundraising throughout the pandemic and participating in all the Bone Cancer Research Trust's virtual challenges.

Karen Schurer

For creating a boundless community of fundraising to drive forward life-saving research in memory of her daughter.

Lee Morris

For continually pushing himself and his fundraising by completing some of the world's toughest challenges, all in the name of bone cancer research.

Louise & Mike Ashton

For dedicating themselves to raising funds in memory of their son and improving outcomes of children facing primary bone cancer in the future.

We were so blown away by the number and quality of nominees in this category that we felt it only right to create two awards. One specifically recognising the research and healthcare community and one for the wider primary bone cancer community.

Research & healthcare professional nominees

Professor Alison Gartland

For dedicating over 20 years of her career to improving the lives of primary bone cancer patients. Alongside her research, Professor Gartland is dedicated to raising awareness of the disease and also fundraising to support the work of the Bone Cancer Research Trust.

Carol Hughes

For her dedication to providing vital psychological support to primary bone cancer patients and their families as they navigate a diagnosis and beyond in her role as Macmillan Counsellor at the Royal Orthopaedic Hospital.

Gillian Cribb

For going above and beyond for her patients and dedicating her career to providing excellent care as a consultant orthopaedic surgeon at the Robert Jones & Agnes Hunt Foundation Trust.

Jeremy Reynolds

For his dedication to a career committed to spinal sarcoma services and driving improvements in the treatment or spinal sarcoma patients. He is one of the UK's leading spinal surgeons for bone sarcoma and goes above and beyond for his patients every day.

Mr David Boddie

For his selfless care and dedication to his patients, going above and beyond to support them throughout their primary bone cancer journey as Consultant Trauma & Orthopaedic Surgeon at NHS Grampian.

Wider community nominees

Jane Nattrass

For working tirelessly to support children with primary bone cancer and their families after the death of her son. Through her own charity, Henry Dancer Days, Jane has dedicated her life to ensure that families are supported, both financially and emotionally, through their primary bone cancer journey.

Chloë Venton

For her dedication to raising awareness on the signs and symptoms of primary bone cancer and her willingness to help future patients through her participation in research projects, showing how determined and inspiring Chloë was.

Liz Clarke-Saul

For her dedication to raising funds to initiate the UK's first programme of Adamantinoma research, despite being told her cancer had returned and was incurable. Her words 'If I don't, then who will' were inspirational and characteristic of how selfless Liz was.

Pete Lloyd

For his continuous dedication to raising vital funds for primary bone cancer research, increasing crucial awareness wherever and whenever possible, and offering support to others who have been affected by primary bone cancer.

Monica Tsimbouri

For the development of nano-kicking technology to understand and exploit the differences between normal and osteosarcoma cells.

Professor Sibylle Mittnacht

For the use of tissue engineering technology to develop a pioneering new 3D model of bone for use in research.

Kenneth Rankin

For the use of fluorescence in surgical research to inform and improve accuracy and effectiveness.

Professor Lee Jeys

For driving forward computer navigation-assisted surgery for pelvic chondrosarcoma patients, resulting in increased survival.

Professor Sue Burchill

Through many years of dedicated research in the field of Ewing sarcoma, Professor Burchill has recently discovered a new way of identifying patients who are least likely to respond to standard treatment alone. Potentially changing the way Ewing sarcoma patients will be treated in the future.

Dr Katie Finegan & Dr Darrell Green

Through their collaborative approach, Dr Finegan and Dr Green recently made a significant discovery, which could lead to a new treatment for osteosarcoma and the development of a whole new class of drugs.

Dr Sandra Strauss

Through her contribution to clinical bone cancer research, Dr Strauss has brought together an incredible network of national collaborators to create the UK's largest osteosarcoma research framework. Dr Strauss has also played a pivotal role in the Euro Ewing Consortium and delivered numerous early phase clinical trials for primary bone cancer patients.

Sue & Andy Collard

For their selfless dedication to fundraising, proactive awareness-raising and wider support of the primary bone cancer community in memory of their daughter. Sue and Andy inspire hundreds of individuals each year and have raised hundreds of thousands of pounds to fuel life-saving research that otherwise, would have gone unfunded.

Dr Sandra Strauss

For her continual commitment to primary bone cancer patients and putting their needs at the heart of research. Dr Strauss is also involved in various international initiatives and projects, ensuring UK patients are represented and benefit from world-wide research progress.

Professor Adrienne Flanagan

For her contribution over many years, leading to her being internationally recognised as one of the leading voices in bone sarcoma pathology and research. Professor Flanagan also played a pivotal role in the 100,000 Genomes Project, ensuring bone sarcoma patients were included.