The winners of this year’s The Bone Idols were unveiled at an awards ceremony to celebrate our sarcoma specialists on the weekend of World Cancer Day.

5 winners were selected from more than 50 nominations put forward by colleagues, patients, and their families along with the Ian Lewis Outstanding Contribution Award.

Surgeon of the Year (sponsored by Insight Surgery)

Mr Lee Bayliss, an orthopaedic surgeon at the Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital in Stanmore, was crowned winner of the Surgeon of the Year Award.

As a specialist in orthopaedic oncology, sarcoma and reconstruction, Lee's commitment to the primary bone cancer community is evident not only in his skilled and complex surgeries, but also in the confidence and trust he instils within his patients and their families.

Allied Health Professional of the Year

Teresa Brodie, assistant clinical research practitioner at the Royal Orthopaedic Hospital in Birmingham, took home the Allied Health Professional of the Year Award.

Allied Health Professionals (AHPs) are a group of diverse clinicians who assist with diagnostic, therapeutic, technical and support services in connection with healthcare.

As a standout member from this group of unsung heroes, Teresa was celebrated for her role leading on the collection of patient samples. She was praised for ensuring that all patients are offered the chance to participate in sarcoma studies, thus contributing to the success and growth of sarcoma research projects at the hospital.

I am so grateful to be the recipient of this award, especially from an organisation I truly admire.

Clinician of the Year (sponsored by WWSA)

Gerard Mawhinney, consultant nurse at the Oxford Spinal Surgery Unit, received the Clinician of the Year Award for his outstanding patient care and advocacy work.

He was also praised for establishing a 'buddy system' for spinal sarcoma patients to receive peer-to-peer support, along with the development of a video consent tool that allows patients to participate in shared decision-making when it comes to their treatment and care.

It is a privilege to work with patients and families living with spinal sarcoma. I am honoured to receive this award; it is a great personal achievement, but also a national recognition for the dedicated work that the Oxford Spinal Sarcoma and the wider Oxford Sarcoma Service provide.

Team of the Year (Sponsored by RBC Brewin Dolphin UK)

The Montgomery Unit, based at the Robert Jones & Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital in Oswestry, were proud winners of the Team of the Year Award.

Staff at the unit were celebrated for providing exceptional holistic care, from diagnosis and surgery to rehabilitation and ongoing monitoring and support. They have also been recognised for consistently going above and beyond, with patients describing how lucky they feel to be treated by such a dedicated team who take time to deliver highly personalised care.

The research, awareness and support carried out by the Bone Cancer Research Trust complements so much of the clinical work that we undertake at RJAH, and we are so grateful for their support. This award is a fantastic demonstration of how the team provide high quality, dedicated, and holistic care to our patients on a day-to-day basis.

Rising Research Star (Sponsored by D360 International Consulting Engineers)

Lucia Cottone, postdoctoral researcher at University College London, was proud recipient of the Rising Research Star Award.

As the Bone Cancer Research Trust's first Early Career Fellow, Lucia was recognised for spearheading research that is important to patients and for always maintaining a patient-first mindset.

Alongside this, Lucia has been celebrated for interacting with the bone cancer community with empathy and has forged strong collaborations both within her institution and beyond — linking and aligning projects to deliver maximum impact for future patients.

Receiving this award is a great honour and I am grateful to those who supported my nomination. This award really boosts my motivation to work even harder, alongside many amazing scientists and clinicians at UCL and beyond, to fight bone cancer.

Researcher of the Year

Dr Kenneth Rankin, consultant orthopaedic surgeon and honorary senior lecturer at Newcastle University, took home the Researcher of the Year accolade for showing exceptional innovation and ongoing commitment to the field of surgical oncology.

He was commended for establishing an international consortium of experts — recognising the value of collaboration whilst striving for advances in pioneering, cutting-edge research such as the NIHR sarcoma surgery and sarcoma surgery trial, Sarcosight.

I am delighted to have won this award. It would not have been possible without many of our bone sarcoma patients who generously donated samples for research. I would also like to thank my colleagues in Newcastle who are protective of the time I have needed to carry out research at this level.

The Ian Lewis Outstanding Contribution Award

Dr Asif Saifuddin was posthumously honoured with the most prestigious award of the evening, which recognises a individual who has dedicated their career to improving outcomes for bone cancer patients.

After completing his radiology training in 1992, Asif applied for a consultant position at the Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital, where he remained for the rest of his impressive medical career. He is celebrated for his unwavering dedication to the field of radiology and to the patients at the very heart of his work.

Asif's sons Hashim and Humza, and son-in-law Shuaib, took to the stage to accept this honourable award on Asif's behalf.

It was a very special evening, and lovely to see the impact that dad's work had on his patients and his colleagues, as well as hearing about the legacy he left after years of dedication.

A huge thank you to our sponsors — Insight Surgery, WWSA, RBC Brewin Dolphin and D360 International Consulting Engineers — for supporting this event.